2022 Ivor Novello Award Winners Announced


The Ivors Academy has revealed the winners of 12 Ivor Novello Awards at the 20th Annual Ivors Composer Awards, celebrating the best new classical music, jazz and sound art. The winners were announced at a ceremony hosted by Hannah Peel and BBC Radio 3’s Tom Service at the British Museum.

Three composers, Sir George Benjamin, Judith Weir and Talvin Singh, received special Ivor Novello awards for their innovation, influence and legacy.

The winning works premiered at some of the UK’s leading venues and festivals. Liz Dilnot Johnson’s Requiem for Refugees was performed at Coventry Cathedral as part of the UK’s Culture City celebrations in 2021, while Southwark Cathedral hosted Cheryl Frances Hoad award-winning work, commissioned to mark the 50th anniversary of the City of London Sinfonia.

The new Southbank Center Music Festival sound status premiered the Orchestra winner and Oxford’s world-class Lieder festival premiered two winning pieces.

Hannah Peel and Tom Service presented the Ivors Composer Awards 2022, held at the British Museum

The EFG London Jazz Festival, Britten Pears’ Festival of New and the voces8 foundation’s Live from London Summer Festival created the jazz, sound art and choir winners respectively. And the Stage Works category is back, won this year by thomas ades for the Wayne McGregor and Royal Ballet project Danteat the Royal Opera House in London.

Tom Gray, President of Ivors Academy, said: “Congratulations to all of our winners, who have been recognized for their incredible achievement in composition. The range of innovations and the level of achievements make this an exceptional year. We have proudly celebrated creative excellence in songwriting over the past twenty years and thank PRS for Music and BBC Radio 3 for supporting us from the start.

Michelle Escoffery, President of the PRS Council of Members, said: “It was an honor to celebrate the 20th Annual Ivors Composer Awards – the energy in the room was celebratory and positive. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, including the seven phenomenal composers who won an Ivor Novello Award for the first time ever. I know that feeling and I’m thrilled for them to be recognized for their work.

“I also congratulate Sir George Benjamin, Judith Weir and Talvin Singh on receiving the Gift of the Academy awards for their incredible achievements. And a special thank you to the entire team at Ivors Academy for your continued work uplifting the community contemporary composers.

More like this

Top pictured: Tori Freestone receives the Ivor Novello Prize for Jazz Ensemble from Cassie Kinoshi © Mark Allan Photography


Comments are closed.