Alex Williams Announces New Album “Waging Peace”


On the Outlaw side of the country and the True Grit talent roster, Alex Williams has announced a new album titled Make peace. And don’t worry, it won’t be full of singing drum circles and nag champa sessions. You’ll get all the required grit, muscle and twang you expect from an Alex Williams record. It is set to be released on New West Lightning subsidiary Rod Records on October 21.

The war Alex Williams is waging on the new album is for peace itself between the forces of good and evil. It’s about trying to find inner peace in the tumultuous world of being a touring musician. This can be heard in the album’s first single “No Reservations” (see video below). And no, he’s not trying to flex his “outlaw” muscles in the video, but to illustrate how you’re immersed in those worlds you have to navigate as a touring musician.

“‘No Reservations’ is all about maneuvering through all the issues and hardships that come with this line of work on the road,” said Williams. “Meanwhile, embracing the good with the bad and discovering the pure joy that comes from being able to play music for a living.”

Producer Ben Fowler helped Alex Williams on this journey, which brought together well-known musicians such as harmonica player Mickey Raphael and steel guitarist Danny Dugmore, while Mickey Raphael also helped co-write one of the songs. from the album. Other notable co-writers include Tennessee Jet, Mando Saenz, and Saving Country Music favorite Ben Jarrell. Alex Williams wrote or co-wrote all twelve tracks on the new album.

Williams took an unconventional route for a more independent-minded artist when he released his debut album Better than me in 2017 via Big Machine Records, the same major label that launched Florida Georgia Line and Taylor Swift. It sounded odd to say the least, and while the album resonated with the Cody Jinks/Whitey Morgan crowd, it wasn’t going to win any CMA awards or set a sales record.

At the time, we assumed signing Alex Williams was Music Row’s response to the rising tide of independent artists who were beginning to challenge mainstream dominance and trying to create their own independent artist. Although Alex Williams fits the “Outlaw” profile, some of the songs on his debut album also fall somewhat within the traditional songwriting style, relying on drinking song cliches.

“Before making my first record, I hadn’t toured. I had no road band and very little studio experience. Williams explains. “The past four years since Big Machine left Big Machine to become fully independent, and the release of ‘Better Than Myself’ has been a whirlwind. I’m so glad I waited five years to make another record because it gave me time to really find my voice as a songwriter, to experience life on the road and all the pain and joy that went through me in more than one way.”

Make peace is now available in pre-order.


1. “No reservations” (Alex Williams/Mando Saenz)
2. “Old Before My Time” (Alex Williams/NealCoty)
3. “At the Bottom” (Alex Williams/Mando Saenz)
4. “Fire” (Alex Williams/Tennessee Jet)
5. “Upper Road” (Alex Williams/Mando Saenz)
6. “Make Peace” (Alex Williams)
7. “Conspiracy” (Alex Williams/Tennessee Jet)
8. “The Best Thing” (Alex Williams / Mickey Raphael)
9. “Double Nickel” (Alex Williams/Ben Jarrel)
10. “Confession” (Alex Williams/Marshall Altman)
11. “The Struggle” (Alex Williams)
12. “Vice” (Alex Williams)


Comments are closed.