Brit Taylor is preparing a new album produced by Sturgill Simpson


The region along US Route 23 in Kentucky, affectionately known as the Country Music Highway, has been a hotbed for country talent for a century. From legends like Ricky Skaggs, Dwight Yoakam and Keith Whitley, to the next generation of country revolutionaries like Tyler Childers and Sturgill Simpson, and of course the great Loretta Lynn. Brit Taylor is also an alumnus from the area, and with her 2020 album real memade a strong case for why it deserves to be considered part of this Route 23 legacy.

Now Brit Taylor is back and teaming up with Eastern Kentucky native Sturgill Simpson with David Ferguson for her new album. Kentucky Blue out February 3, 2023. The title track is available now (listen below).

“Kentucky Blue – both the song and the album – is so revelatory of love, life and Kentucky”, Taylor said. “Whether you’re mourning the death of a relationship, a dream, a family member, or even a personal idol such as Loretta Lynn, ‘Kentucky Blue’ speaks to your heart in this unique Appalachian musical language. .”

Recorded at “Cowboy” Jack Clement’s Cowboy Arms Hotel and Recording Spa in Nashville, Kentucky Blue it’s said to have a bit funky attitude in spurts, but otherwise it’s pure country. The album’s co-writers include Kimberly Kelly, who released her own landmark album earlier this year (I’ll tell you what’s gonna happen), Pat McLaughlin known for writing with John Prine and others, and Adam Wright.

“When Sturgill & Ferg started talking about doing my record together, they asked me to send them 25 songs,” Taylor said. “I sent them closer to 30. We went through them together and picked the ones that resonated best with all of us. It’s an old fashioned way of doing things, but it’s the only way I want to make records, where the best songs win.

After the devastating floods in Eastern Kentucky earlier this year, including along the Country Music Highway, Brit Taylor helped organize a drive for supplies for affected local residents, and also helped organize and make headlines the official after party for the massive Kentucky Rising advantage at Rupp Arena at the Burl in Lexington.

Kentucky Blue is now available for pre-save and Pre-order.


1. Cabin in the Woods (Brit Taylor and Jason White)
2. Everything But You (Brit Taylor, Adam Wright)
3. Kentucky Blue (Kimberly Kelly, Brit Taylor and Adam Wright)
4. Rich Little Girls (Kimberly Kelly, Brit Taylor, Adam Wright)
5. No Cowboys (Nick Autry, Adam Chaffins and Brit Taylor)
6. If You Won’t Love Me (Brit Taylor, Adam Landry and Adam Chaffins)
7. It’s not a hard life (Pat McLaughlin and Brit Taylor)
8. Love never felt so good to me (Jerry Salley and Brit Taylor)
9. The Best We Can Do (Brit Taylor and Pat McLaughlin)
10. For One Night (Pat McLaughlin, Brit Taylor and Cliff Audretch)


Comments are closed.