Hank Williams Jr., Marty Stuart and Dean Dillon inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame


Not many people achieve the distinction of joining the Country Music Hall of Fame, but those who do are already legends by the time of their induction. Last Sunday (November 21), three new members were officially admitted to the most prestigious club in country music. Marty Stuart, Dean Dillon and Hank Williams Jr. were the three artists selected for this honor.

The induction ceremony was held in Nashville, and various other country music artists were in attendance to present awards and perform. Stuart won his nomination in the Modern Era category, and his wife, Hall of Famer Connie Smith, was on hand to officially welcome him to the Hall of Fame. Entered in the Songwriter category, Dillon was awarded his official medallion by George Strait for whom Dillon wrote several songs.

Williams Jr. was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a veteran artist. Eric Church covered the artist’s “A Country Boy Can Survive” in his honor. Church also created an autobiographical verse in Williams Jr.’s song. I remember where I was and when, the first time I heard “Whiskey Bent” / With a brother, I no longer have any, now he plays guitar on this heavenly shore, sang the Church. Williams Jr. notably follows in his father’s footsteps when Hank Williams was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1961.

Other performers at the ceremony included Brittney Spencer, Ashley McBryde and Alan Jackson.

Marty Stuart, Dean Dillon and Hank Williams Jr. represent the Country Music Hall of Fame Class of 2020. Their induction had been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The 2021 class will be inducted at a later date and the inductees are Ray Charles, The Judds, Eddie Bayers and Pete Drake.

Photo by: Terry Wyatt / Getty Images for the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum


Comments are closed.