Nominees announced for this year’s Country Music Alberta Awards


Albertans love to listen to country music artists from around the world, but there is also plenty of local talent to support right here in our beautiful province.

The Country Music Alberta Awards showcases more than 100 local musicians and industry professionals in 22 award categories, ranging from ‘Artist of the Year’ to ‘Live Location or Presentation Series of the Year’ “.

the 11th Annual Awards will take place on March 20 in Red Deer, celebrating all aspects of Alberta’s country music industry.

“From songwriters like Mike Nash and Mat Cardinal of The Prairie States and Aaron Pollock, to CCMA-nominated artists like Nice Horse and Ryan Lindsay, to lead singers Tenille Townes and Jade Eagleson,” reads a statement from press from Country Music Alberta, “the nominees in 22 award categories prove that Alberta is a force to be reckoned with in the Canadian country music scene.

Country Music Alberta executive director Stephanie Bakker-Hopf says the association has worked hard to bring the 11th annual awards to life this spring, and hopes the country music industry and fans are excited to celebrate Alberta’s top talent. .

“In these crazy times, we crave connection more than ever and music creates that,” says Bakker-Hopf. “We are thrilled to be able to celebrate and recognize the talented and dedicated people who continue to bring it to life despite the additional hurdles we have faced this year.”

Nice Horse leads the nominations for 2022, with the band vying for six awards. Dan Davidson has received five award nominations, and The Prairie States and Aaron Goodvin follow close behind with four nominations each. Alberta-born Juno Award-winning Tenille Townes is up for Female Artist of the Year and Single of the Year.

Townes recognizes the importance of provincial awards systems like Country Music Alberta in helping pave the way for an artist’s national and international success.

“I love Alberta’s music community,” says Townes. “I believe Country Music Alberta is such an important association to help advance music coming out of the province and bring everyone together.

Details about the show’s hosts, performers, tickets and more will be announced in the coming weeks.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 2022 Country Music Alberta Awards:

Horizon Female Artist of the Year

Krissy Feniak
Mariya Stokes
Tracy Millar
Michele Sheedy
Hailey Benedict

Horizon Male Artist of the Year

Donny Lee
Devin Cooper
Trevor Panczak
brandon laurent
dan davidson
Drawn Gregory

Horizon Group or Duo of the Year

Dirt Road Angels
The Prairie States
Pretty horse
As high as we go
renegade station

Horizon Single of the Year

“Free, Free, Free” – Station Renegade
“Brought Me This Far” – Donny Lee
“I wanted you to” – Hailey Benedict
“Looking For A Lockdown With You” – various artists, featuring Scarlett Buttler and Aaron
“Break My Heart” – Mariya Stokes
“Good to miss you” – Nice Horse

Horizon Youth

Kat Krys
Martine Dawn
Megan Paig

Male Artist of the Year

Brett Kissel
Gord Bamford
Jade Eagleson
Aaron Goodvin

Female Artist of the Year

Towns of Tenille
Mackenzie Porter
lindsay ell

Group of the year

road hammers
Upper Valley

Musician of the Year

Cody Mack (drums, bass, electric and acoustic guitar)
Tara McLeod (guitar)
Mitch Jay (pedal steel guitar, banjo, guitar)
Johnny Gasparic (guitar, mandolin, dobro)
Brendan Waters (keyboard, guitar)
Josh Ruzycki (electric guitar)

Roots Artist of the Year

Blake Reid
Kyle McKearney
ryan lindsay
Clayton Bellamy and the Congregation
Mike Plume

Songwriter(s) of the Year

“Looking for Lockdown with You” – Written by Joni Delaurier, Troy Kokol, Teresa
Schmidt, Greg Shannon and Stella Stevens – Performed by various artists, with Scarlett Buttler and Aaron Goodvin
“High That I’m Riding” – Written by Mike Nash, Mat Cardinal and Dan Davidson – Performed by The Prairie States
“Rebound” – Written by Mariya Stokes and Aaron Pollock – Performed by Mariya Stokes
“Roll With It” – Written by Dan Davidson, Clayton Bellamy and Jason McCoy – Performed by Dan Davidson and The Road Hammers
“Beer With Anyone” – Written by Drew Gregory and Eric Dodd – Performed by Drew

Video of the Year

“Free, Free, Free” – Station Renegade
“High School” – Nice Horse
“Roll With It” – Dan Davidson (ft. The Road Hammers)
“High That I’m Riding” – The Prairie States
“Beer with Anyone” – Drew Gregory

album of the year

Down Home – Kyle McKearney
Every little town – The Prairie States
feels like this – Alee
Brought me this far –Donny Lee
I’m not 29 anymore –Tracy Millar

Bachelor of the Year

“All Night to Understand” – Jade Eagleson
“Girl Who Didn’t Care” – Tenille Townes
“Boy Like Me” – Aaron Goodvin
“Gain a life, not a life” – Brett Kissel
“Good On You” – Lindsay Ell

The fan’s choice

renegade station
Hailey Benedict
Donny Lee
brandon laurent
New law
Chevy Beaulieu
Tracy Millar
Trevor Panczak
John Stirling
Kyle McKearney

Interactive Artist of the Year

Devon Cooper
Hailey Benedict
Kym Simon
Pretty horse
dan davidson

Community Spirit Award

Devin Cooper
John Stirling
Pretty horse

Industry Personality of the Year

Dan Davidson – Producer and Promoter (Diesel Bird Fest)
Johnny Gasparic – MCC Recording Studio
Sarah Scott – Real Country 95.9 Podcast / Studio B
Emily Holloway – The Blue Jay Sessions/Calgary Country/National Music Center
Laurie Brown – Porch Swing Entertainment

Talent Buyer of the Year

Adam Oppenheim – Stampede Entertainment
Angie Morris – Sirroma Entertainment
Dan Clapson – Blue Jay Sessions
Rob Cyrynowski – Live Hotels/Livestar Entertainment
Carla Hackman – Sakamoto Agency

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

Country 93 (Fort McMurray)
Wild 95.3 (Calgary)
Real Country 95.5 (Red Deer)
Country 95.5 (Lethbridge)
840 CFCW (Edmonton)
CAT 94 (Medicine Hat)
Grand Country 93.1 (Grand Prairie)
CISN (Edmonton)
Country 105 (Calgary)
CFWE (Edmonton)
CJWE (Calgary)

Radio Station of the Year (Small/Medium Market)

Real Country 95.9 (Lloydminster)
99.7 Sun Country (High River)
New Country 98.1 (Camrose)
93.1 The One (Leduc)
96.5 CKFM (Old)

Live Venue or Presentation Series of the Year

The Track on 2 Horse Racing & Event Centre, Lacombe
The King Eddy‚ Calgary
Hotels Live Concert Series‚ Calgary
Cook County Saloon‚ Edmonton
The Blue Jay Sessions‚ Calgary


Comments are closed.